Will the Eve-V fit for my requirements?

cpu

Hello Community!

I follow the discussions here in the community now for about two weeks. That was the time where I discovered the Eve-V. Since then I am really a fan and excited to see this super device on the market.

Where I am skeptical is the specification of the cpus. I have no experience with this cpus and I want to use the eve-v to develop with visual Studio and IntelliJ. So that will be most of the time. Otherwise I will use the eve for University. That means Office, email, OneNote and that stuff. I know for all the Office stuff the cpu is good enough. I am just a little bit afraid that I will need a full i5 or i7 to work with it very good.

One of my colleagues are working with a Surface pro 3 and i7 cpu with visual Studio and it works good for him. Is it comparable to the i5 or i7 of the eve?

Hope you can help me a little bit with my fears of having too little perfomance.

Best regards,
Mario from Austria/Vienna

Performance-wise we beat the SP4 i7, so compared to your mate’s SP3 i7 it should work well.
Keep in mind you can increase TDP if you want some more power (around 12-13W was the last stable level according to iKirin).

IMHO You don’t have to worry about CPU performance. I was working on VS and InteliJ on my 7yo laptop with Core 2 Duo CPU and 8GB RAM and it was fine. Comparing to SP3 it should be more performant, so for development and casual office use it would be great. Also, like @Tirigon said, increasing TDP will help if you would need even more computing power.

I as a developer and am looking for similar purpose, i.e. VS, SSMS etc, and guess V would work fine in terms of performance. I just wonder a bit of the keyboard is good enough for heavy-typing…

This is something where i dont see the problem for me. At home and University I have the possibility to use Keyboards … And I think when I am on the way and want to develop for that short time it will be okay …