Student homebase setup

Hello everybody,

I’m a student that is soon going to begin medical school and getting ready for the intense workload it entails, with a lot of notetaking, reading, summarizing, data collecting etc. etc.

I’ve already created a discussion regarding the possibility of finding alternative pens for the V in order to further enhance the notetaking experience.

This was one of the main reasons I came across the V; I was hunting for a portable 2-1 laptop which I could carry with me to lectures, group discussions, the library etc., while also collecting all my notes in one place (through OneNote).

I was saving up for a Surface when I found out about the V in a YouTube comment thread. Yep, it was one of those rare occasions when something good came out of a Youtube comment thread. ;-).

My current setup at home consists of a modified old Asus laptop with maxed out RAM and SSD-drive, connected via HDMI to a LED-TV dedicated to Stanley Kubrick, 30s noire and Japanese samurai movies.

Now I’m preoccupied with a thought; could I possibly use the V as my primary laptop in my school dedicated homebase?

In my mind, this would entail the following things:

• An ultra wide monitor (29’’/34’’, LG?)
  • A dock for connecting the V to the screen and TV, as well as power source and ethernet cable
  • A mechanic keyboard (no, I don’t have one. I just know that I want one for all that quality time I am going to spend writing up my notes. Clicketyclackityclack).
  • A vertical stand for the V.

With this setup, I could use the V as a vertical screen (for ebooks, lecture notes etc.) and have a very wide primary monitor which would easily let me multitask (OneNote/Youtube lectures/Word document/course literature PDFs).

A setup like this is wholly new to me though, and I do not know if the V (i7 model) is properly… endowed to play such an important part in my home setup.

Is it a good idea? Will it work? Or is it too much to ask?