[PROBLEM] Windows defender - "antimalware service executable" is running mad

Just to begin with, I’m not very experienced with PCs, I’m just using them. So, I’ll just provide screenshots to illustrate my strange problem, basically I just detected it by accident while trying to run a initial scan of my new V.

This antimalware thing is running mad after trying to open windows defender security center (btw. it doesn’t open anyway, when I click on “Open Windows Defender Security Center” the CPU-Problems start), consuming the most of CPU. So, scanning my V is currently not possible with Windows’ “build in” application.

Has anyone an idea what the problem could be?

And another question: If I have to reset my V, will the CalMAN Client Colour calibrating tool still be preserved, or is it lost afterwards?

Regards,
Susanne

If you do a fresh install it will not be preserved. You can backup the config/calman directory. the client can be downloaded from their site anyways.

But I am not sure if the config will actually work even if its backed up

edit 3: theres a lot of pictures, so if you want a tl;dr: don’t worry too much, enjoy your V! if you haven’t identified anything by now i think you can safely say your unit is good!

edit 2:

if you mean doing either of this, you’re fine. I know for a fact that it will stay, because i’ve done it like three times now.

the fresh install he means, is below - in red. its very hard to accidentally do a fresh install, because you need ot make an installation usb, boot from it and then confirm that you really really want to do it.

edit: oh wait, i get what you’re concerned about now lol - running a scan is definitely going to tax your cpu, its checking everything!

in any case, you can just leave windows to schedule scans and not worry too much about it.