My first 24hrs with Eve V

So I finally got my Eve V as a HEB. It’s been a long wait with lots of ups and downs, even the shipping process caused it’s share of frustration. Was it all worth it? Well after my first 24hrs with my Eve V I have to say absolutely, but makes we wish even more I’d received it earlier as V is simply brilliant.

For context I work in IT and spent 2 years working in device sales so I’m very familiar with the market for laptop and 2 in 1 devices. I’ve owned and tested quite a few. My last daily driver for work was a Surface Pro 4 which I recently replaced with a Lenovo X1 Yoga Gen 2.

Eve V is my personal device for on the go tasks. I also have a Dell XPS 15 I use for video editing and a Dell Alienware R3 13 for gaming and Windows Mixed Reality. I know crazy to have so many devices and it drives my wife nuts, but I firmly believe in using the right device for the task and that no one device will ever fulfil all my computing needs.

So what are my main use cases for Eve V:

• Email, Web browsing, Social (Facebook, Twitter) on the go. I know you can do all that on a mobile phone, but I much prefer using a larger screen and a proper keyboard so even an iPad was not really a good solution
  • Media: Netflix, Films, Spotify…
  • Light Office usage: Spreadsheets mainly for tracking personal finances, some correspondence in Word
  • Note taking in OneNote: I’m on a parent association and occasionally need to take notes. I also use OneNote for planning holidays, gathering ideas when looking at new purchases (furniture, cars)
  • Music notation: I use StaffPad to copy / write music, mostly choir scores.

For all these tasks Eve V felt like a really good fit. So in November 2016 I backed Eve V and opted for the i5/8GB/256GB version.

Over a year later :zipper_mouth_face: I received my Eve V. If you haven’t received or unboxed your Eve V won’t spoil anything, only to say you’re in for a treat and it feels like a premium product from the get go.