I7 Software capacity 4 Designers

Hi, I’m an Architect student looking for a tablet that I can design on and been following Eve V for awhile now. Before deciding on which tablet to get I was wondering if the tablet could handle running these specific programs with ease.

https://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/revit-products/troubleshooting/caas/sfdcarticles/sfdcarticles/System-requirements-for-Autodesk-Re

http://www.adobe.com/downloads.html

https://www.rhino3d.com/system_requirements/

Thanks for the feed back, excited for December 4th!

since not many people have a V right now, we’d just look and compare the SW specs to the V specsheet. People are getting their units VERY soon - with such a large community, someone may need to run the same programs, or may even run a test with the above if you ask nicely!

ps. for rhino3d, the V has an intel615 for it’s graphics…they listed Win vista as a requirement…and the hw demands from that time were less, so based on your specs, i think any v would be ideal, but the i7 packs the most punch for cpu and ram.

3 Likes

The V should be able to run Adobe software and Rhino okay. Obviously a more powerful laptop would do a better job.

I’ve got a ton of experience with Autodesk products, and Revit can get very demanding very fast. On my Surface Pro 4, a small building is enough to make it lag and jumpy (with the occasional crash), and the V should perform a bit worse than that. If you’re an architecture student I suspect you’ll be working with complex models, which the V will not work well with at all (nor will a Surface Pro).

I’d suggest either a Surface Book (the older ones are a lot cheaper now, but the new ones are better obviously) or another 2in1 with an i7 U processor and a dedicated graphics card.

6 Likes