Hi My name is John

My name is John and I live in NSW, Australia. I am originally from Canada where I graduated in EE in 1969 from Queens University. I have been in the IT&T industry for 40+ years (I’m retired now!). My interest is in 2-in-1 devices which are sufficiently powerful enough for every day usage but not over engineered to be too expensive for mass appeal. This product space has the potential to become huge and I will watch with much interest the forthcoming launch.

Hey! Welcome to the community John :smiley: If you have any questions please ask :wink:

Hello John. Great to have you here!

Do you own a 2-in-1 at the present yet or are just considering getting one?

Have you been checking out project Pyramid Flipper earlier already or did you join in lately?

Mike,

I don’t own a 2-in-1 yet but am contemplating a purchase. I have read
quite a bit on the EVE community board and am interested in the project.
I have some concerns that the EVE V will be too expensive for me based
upon what I have read so far.

As an electrical engineer I can appreciate high end design but high end
design does not always yield a commercial success. As I see it the
Chinese brands (Cube, Chuwi, Teclast etc.) are getting closer to what I
would classify as a good sub $500 USD 2-in-1.

As an example of what I mean I have been a Mac user since the Mac Plus
days (shows how old I am turned 70 this year) but even owning an Mac
mini server, iMac and a 13" MacBook Pro my everyday driver is a Metabox
15" Haswell i7 laptop. It is good enough and frankly I think Apple has
lost it! Too much emphasis on ‘design’ and not enough on staying current
although the Macbook 12" is interesting. They have painted themselves
into a corner with the IOS/MacOS split. It has taken Microsoft a while
to get Windows suitable for conventional and touch devices but I think
Windows 10 is pretty well the answer.

Sorry for my rambling, but I will watch with interest. Good luck with
the launch. Hope it goes well.