Hi! I'm interested about Spectrum and have a question

Hello there from Turkey!

My name’s Tunahan. I’m an editor from one of my country’s tech websites and prepare video reviews about games and gaming hardwares.

I’m looking for monitor upgrade and Spectrum model impressed me a lot. But I have a question about some capabilities which one is not on first place. It’s about sound.

I have reference studio speakers(JBL LSR305) on my desktop. One day I said “why I hear the sound of gaming consoles from monitors built-in speaker? It must be a way for hear from reference speakers cuz it’s way more powerful and detailed. Actually hooked up my monitor to speakers with a one side 3.5mm other side two seperate 6.35mm(for left and right) cable is enough. But it only works with my current monitors Audio Line-In port(Asus MX239H). Not work with speaker port(green one). When I’m searching a HDMI 2.1 gaming monitor with line-in port, only TV size monitors have it and all of them have built-in speakers but I don’t want that sizes. I’m looking for 27” 4K with HDMI 2.1.

Spectrum full specs list say “3.5mm audio jack - 1x - Analog audio output from video input source” It seems like what I want but I don’t have any information about that. Is there a connection between line-in ports and built-in speakers or monitors without built-in speakers like Spectrum can gave me what I want? Because on the paper, it seems simple like plug your headset to monitor. Only difference is studio type equipment mostly have other connection types than 3.5mm. Like XLR or 6.35mm.

If anyone has setup like that or tried something like that with Spectrum and share ideas I would be very happy.

Thanks,

4 Likes

Yes, the Spectrum outputs audio via the 3.5 mm jack. There are not any speakers in Spectrum. If you want studio quality sound, you should get a separate DAC & Amp

7 Likes