Hey guys, I'm Zi Jin! (A fledgling tablet/phone reviewer)

I’m Zi Jin from (currently rainy) Toronto and I’m currently a mech engineer working in the Gypsum industry. I heard about a crowdsourced tablet/device called eve and I was intrigued, as there was a Chinese manufacturer called UMi who did a very similar thing (albeit much abbrieviated), asking customers what specs they were looking for.

Weirdly enough I just heard it from the interview from Pocketnow. I wasn’t really paying attention until I heard the interview with some of the devs.

I know I joined pretty late into pyramid flipper, but I hope to be able to contribute in this and other future projects!

Oh and I’m also a fledgling phone/tablet reviewer on YouTube, I currently have about a dozen or so Chinese phones/tablets on my desk, so hopefully that knowledge can be put to good use as well!

Welcome to the community! Hope you enjoy participating :wink:

I hadn’t heard UMi did the same thing (do you have the name of the device? Curious to find more about it :blush:) but from what I understood with what you said I think this is much more in depth and maybe more personal since you can give direct input to Eve (and even talk to the CEO and other members!).

It’s never late to make history :wink: Specs are mainly outlined but every piece of information you give will be helpful in making the Pyramid Flipper a better device :smiley: So let’s get the ideas flowing!

Cool! What’s the name of your YouTube account? Just to check it out :grinning:

Once again welcome and feel free to ask any questions you may have!

The company, UMi, is a Chinese phone company that are pretty small time compared to giants like Samsung, where a preorder number of 20k is considered great. They had a project called Apollo where they had a questionnaire for customers to fill out for their ideal smartphone, but that’s the extent of community participation.

They had rather mixed reviews though.