Eve V as a second monitor with thunderbolt? (Artist perspective)

I will try to go straight to the point in my post here. :slight_smile: I’m a 3D artist and I got used to tablets with screens to draw on. I started with a Surface 3. When the tablet was enough for the minimal I wanted for my work, some critiqual software I use everyday was simply unusable. The software I’m taking about is Substance Painter, which depends heavily on the GPU. I tried the Surface Pro 4 i5 version, yet I kinda had the same problem. Substance Painter ran a little bit better but it wasn’t enough for the task.

The Eve V i5 Y series might be a good choice for me, but now I know for sure I will run yet again on the same exact problem.

I tried to find many solutions about and I found 3 methods that could work or not.

1. The first one was to connect my powerful pc tower to the tablet via the new Windows 10 RPD. It worked really well and I had zero lag with the pen, well, only minor lagspikes every 20 seconds. The major problem is that RPD will disable my PC’s gpu and use Intel HD graphics instead so in the end I ended up with the same problems as before with substance painter.

2. An eGPU would be a good and workable solution. Thing is, Cards are cheap but eGPU cases are expensive. So I would scratch that for the moment because “$$$”.

Also, current tablet pcs with high end gpu’s have ridiculous prices (surface book performance)

3. And now we are at the reason of the topic. Wouldn’t the tablet be able to be used as a second screen if there’s Thunderbolt 3? I mean, we finally get bi-directionnal connections and it’s something Apple used to do, with target display mode. Wacom is kinda doing something similar with their new Cintiq Pro 13 and 16, where you can plug a single usb type c port and use the tablet as a second screen.