Eve Spectrum Prototype Tester | tdev12

Hiya, I’m Thomas, and I was selected to test a Spectrum prototype!

My main use for a 4K Spectrum unit is game development, as I am working for a small indie studio publishing games on next-gen consoles, which support 4K @ 120 Hz with HDR. My testing will hence focus on color quality, blur, HDR performance, compatibility for PC and PS5, along with stability over long periods of use.

My PC setup is a GTX 1060 6GB, which quite surprisingly handles 4K@144Hz and 1440p@144Hz just fine.
I have a dual screen setup, with my Spectrum unit sitting on my desk to the right of a 1440p AOC CQ27G2U as in this picture:

I received my unit on May 14, so I’ve had the ability to start testing in some depth and find some bugs out, which I’ll detail in my coming posts.
My role as a developer makes it so I have some experience in bug finding & reporting, and I can also benefit from information usually inaccessible to the general public to find and document issues. You can be certain I will be as thorough as possible testing Spectrum!

Here are my first impressions: overall, I’m quite happy to have got my hands on one, and very excited too - it’s not everyday you get a prototype in your hands, and especially of something you yourself preordered! I also really needed a 4K monitor for next-gen dev, so this really is an incredible opportunity.
While my box wasn’t the exact same one you’ll get, it still was well packed and the screen was very easy to get out. The stand was easily the easiest to install, and it does look quite sturdy. I appreciate its flat base so I can set my keyboard on it in case I need to work with paper.
Right from plugging it into my PC, it set itself to 4K at 144Hz so I can’t say setup could get any easier! Just had to do a 5-min firmware update to benefit from the new version’s stability that Nintendo fans know so much about, and I was good to go.