Advice: Xiaomi Mi 6 VS. OnePlus 5

I was hoping you guys might be able to offer me some advice. I’ve had a Sony Xperia Z5 for a year and a half now and it’s aged horribly. It’s gotten super slow and there’s yellow lines down the side of the screen (similar to what provisional V screen tests showed). I need to get a new phone as my Sony is getting intermittent and I’ve spent about €300 on repairs for it. But I’m really torn between these two makes and models. What are your thoughts? Or is there another android phone you’d recommend and why? Less than €600 please!

• Xiaomi Mi 6
  • OnePlus 5

0 voters

Having used all the 3 main OSes (iOS, Android, WP), Id say Android is fundamentally flawed, and its flaw has been somewhat covered by overkill hardware. Basically you need twice the hardware (CPU cores, RAM capacity, battery) to match iOS and early WP, that speaks how inefficient that is.

Note that later version of WP, including 8.1 and possibly 10 (I have no personal experience with 10, so cant say anything) are somehow getting more and more similar to Android, essentially making it another variant of Android, but with no apps. Thats even less worthy.

Here are 3 examples:

• If youve used an iPhone or Windows Phone 7/8.0 before, no Android will satisfy you in term of input lag and fluidity. Something as simple as typing will become a chore, due to how unpredictable it reacts. Android has come a long way, but its still inferior to iOS and Windows Phone due to the inherent design flaw OEMs have been trying to mitigate it by adding more and more cores to offload background tasks, but that usually comes with drawbacks like worse battery life and slower single-threaded performance, which is why no SoC can match Apple’s in term of single-core performance. Plus its not solving the problem entirely, but simply reducing its effect (and its still apparent). Remember, the Apple A10 Fusion is practically is still a dual-core chip. How would Android look like on a dual-core?